

September 13, 2017

Greetings:

Greyhound Canada Transportation ULC has filed an application with the B.C. Passenger Transportation Board for the elimination of certain bus routes that affects intercity bus service in your regional district. Details of these changes appear in the enclosed Public Notice.

Should your regional district have any comments regarding this proposal, please notify the B.C. Passenger Transportation Board at the address set out in the Public Notice by **Friday October 13, 2017**.

Yours sincerely,

Brad Scott

BC District Manager, Passenger Services

Greyhound Canada Transportation ULC



PUBLIC NOTICE OF APPLICATION FOR ROUTE ELIMINATION

Greyhound Canada Transportation ULC (Greyhound) B.C. Passenger Transportation Board ("Board") Application # 256-17 Posting Period September 13, 2017 to October 13, 2017

Please take note that Greyhound has applied to the Board to amend its Passenger Transportation License # 70414 to eliminate service on the following routes:

- I1: Dawson Creek Fort Nelson
- I2: Fort Nelson Yukon Border & Highway 97
- J: Dawson Creek Prince George
- K: Prince George Fort St James
- L1: Prince Rupert Prince George
- L2: Prince George Albert Border & Highway 16
- S2: University Endowment Lands (UBC) Whistler
- T: Victoria Nanaimo
- Y: Victoria Vancouver

This application is a regrettably unavoidable response to a challenging transportation environment that is characterized by diminishing ridership [51% decline in ridership over these routes], escalating costs and increased competition from publicly subsidized services. Despite significant efforts over the past several years to reduce costs as well as other measures to adapt to the market, Greyhound continues to suffer important losses from its passenger operations in BC and is now forced to make this application as part of an effort to offer a viable, streamlined Intercity Bus Service in the Province.

Business as Usual Pending Regulatory Review and Approval

Greyhound's BC operations will continue to operate normally on these routes during the regulatory process review period-the Company does not foresee any changes to operations in 2017. Subject to the outcome of the Board's review of our application we do not anticipate these changes will come into effect until early 2018. We expect <u>no</u> impact on passenger ticketing and package transport for the remainder of this year.

- More information about the application, including, changes affecting other routes and the "Applicant's Rationale" by Greyhound is available at www.ptboard.bc.ca/bus.htm.
- The Passenger Transportation Board will consider written comments it receives by Friday October 13, 2017.
 - Send comments to the Passenger Transportation Board at Box 9850 STN PROV GOVT, Victoria BC, V8W 9T5, or by fax at (250) 953-3788 or email at ptboard@gov.bc.ca.
 - The Board forwards comments to Greyhound, comments from private individuals are subject to a privacy and confidentiality agreement that Greyhound Canada Transportation ULC has made with the Board.

Eliminated Route Points on Eliminated Routes:

• I1: Dawson Creek - Fort Nelson

City of Dawson Creek, District of Taylor, City of Fort St John, Wonowon, Pink Mountain, Buckinghorse River, Prophet River, Town of Fort Nelson.

• I2: Fort Nelson - Yukon Border & Highway 97

Town of Fort Nelson, Steamboat, Summit Lake, Toad River Lodge, Muncho Lake, Liard River, Coal River, Fireside, (Contact Creek, Yukon), (Iron Creek, Yukon), Lower Post, Yukon Border & Highway 97.

• <u>J: Dawson Creek - Prince George</u>

City of Dawson Creek, Arras, Groundbirch, District of Chetwynd, Pine Valley, Azouetta Lake, Mackenzie Junction, District of Mackenzie, McLeod Lake Lodge, Bear Lake, Salmon River, City of Prince George.

• K: Prince George - Fort St James

City of Prince George, Mud River, Telechik Road, Bednesti Resort, Finmore, Mapes Road, District of Vanderhoof, 12 Mile, Dog Creek, District of Fort St James.

• L1: Prince Rupert - Prince George

City of Prince Rupert, Port Edward Corner, Tyee, Kwinitsa, Shames, City of Terrace, Kitwanga Junction, Skeena Cross, District of New Hazelton, Moricetown, Town of Smithers, Village of Telkwa, District of Houston, Topley, Broman Lake, Village of Burns Lake, Fraser Lake, Fort Fraser, District of Vanderhoof, City of Prince George.

• L2: Prince George - Albert Border & Highway 16

City of Prince George, Bowron River, Dome Creek, Crescent Spur, Lamming Mills, Village of McBride, Tete Jaune Cache Junction, Village of Valemount, Mount Robson, Alberta Border & Highway 16.

• S2: University Endowment Lands (UBC) – Whistler

University Endowment Lands, City of Vancouver, City of West Vancouver, Resort Municipality of Whistler. [Note that service between Vancouver, Whistler and Pemberton is preserved under Route S1]

• T: Victoria – Nanaimo

City of Victoria, City of Langford, Goldstream, Mill Bay, Cobble Hill, Cowichan Bay, City of Duncan, District of North Cowichan, Saltair, Town of Ladysmith, Cassidy, City of Nanaimo.

Y: Victoria - Vancouver

City of Victoria, District of Saanich, District of Central Saanich, District of North Saanich, Town of Sidney, Tsawwassen Ferry Terminal, Vancouver International Airport, City of Vancouver.